diary

contact

links

Super Mario World

3:02 p.m. - 2007-08-27

As you may or may not know, modesty is one of my best qualities. Of course, I have so many "best" qualities that it's hard to choose...

I rock face at Super Mario World. Last night I connected my Wii to the Wii Shop Channel using my Nintendo wifi connector. This isn't the first time that I've done so (more like the second), so I already had a pretty good idea of which games I wanted to buy. I did know, though, that I was going to buy at least two. I sat down, bought 3000 points, and went browsing. I ended up purchasing only SNES - Super Mario World (for me) and NES - Kirby's Adventure (for my girlfriend), surprisingly enough.

Maybe that wouldn't sound like any sort of acheivement to some people, but I assure you, it is for me. I'm extremely compulsive, especially when shopping for delicious, delicious video games. It takes all of 25 seconds to buy any video game I want off of the Wii Shop Channel, so it was a battle against my nostalgic compulsions to re-buy all of my old favorites.

That being said, I rock face at Super Mario World. I'm only on the third area, and I've already unlocked all of Star Road, and already got my ass handed to me in the first secret stage--Gnarly (mostly because I insisted on trying to bring my blue Yoshi with me, and I started running out of time). But I did find the "Top Secret Area" in Donut Land on my first go-through, and I had 52 extra lives last night before I stopped playing.

I'm pretty close to being done with FF3. Technically, I could beat the final boss with my hands tied behind my back--right now--but I want to get all of my dudes 9999 hp, as well as getting them each a full set of the Onion Gear for their Onion Knight job (each of the OK items has a 3-5% chance of dropping, and I need 4 armors, 4 helmets, and 8 swords).

After I'm done with FF3, I think that I'll try FF8 again. I've long touted it as the worst Final Fantasy I've ever played, but I'm trying to beat every single FF (FF1, FF4, FF7 so far) so I've got to cross that bridge eventually. Besides, FF4 for the advance was one of the crappiest RPG's I've ever played. Maybe--if the battle system wasn't so screwed up--it could be an acceptable game.

I've got about 1700 Wii Points left over, still. Any classic games I should try out?

back - top - next
1 - comment?